Welcome to Google Chrome Plugins

Source of Plugins, Themes, Add-ons and information for the Google Chrome Web Browser!

Top Tip: Click here to Fix Windows Errors & Optimize Windows Performance

Print Preview In Google Chrome

by Chrome Blog on March 16, 2010

Yesterday i wanted to take a very important print out of an online document for my research and found out there was no way to do a ‘Print Preview’ in Google Chrome. After searching for a while i came to a forum post by StevePaul here at ChromePlugins.org, who had posted a work around for it, which i thought would be great if i share it here.

How To Print Preview in Google Chromechrome print preview

  1. First of all you would need to download an extension called IE Tab. This is a very useful extension which opens websites in Google Chrome as if its opening in Internet Explorer. You can get more details on it here.
  2. Now open the page which you want to print (or print preview), and click on the IE Tab extension icon besides your address bar. It would open a new tab which would display the page as if its Internet Explorer.
  3. Once the page loads, right click anywhere on the page and you can see the option ‘Print Preview’ in the context menu.
  4. Click on it and that’s it, you would be able to preview how the print would look.

print preview chrome
Please Note: This tip is only a work-around for print preview using a third party extension. We can just hope that the Google Chrome Team includes this very essential feature (and pretty basic really) into the Chrome browser sooner rather than later.

Thanks Steve, for this wonderful hack.

{ 3 trackbacks }

Chrome小技巧:如何使用打印预览 » Chrome迷
03.16.10 at 6:49 am
Print Preview In Google Chrome – Chrome Plugins | Chrome OS Blog
03.16.10 at 8:53 am
Chrome 13 Stable Released With Print Preview And Instant Pages Features - Chrome Plugins
08.03.11 at 4:45 am

{ 24 comments… read them below or add one }

1 brian 03.16.10 at 1:17 pm

you can make your own print button in the bookmarks using java script :

Most browsers have a print button so you don’t have to hunt for the correct menu selection or rely on remembering the keyboard combination. You can add a print button to your Bookmarks bar, making it easily accessible any time you need it.

1. Open Chrome.

2. Right-click the Bookmarks bar and select Add Page.

3. In the Name textbox, input the word Print.

4. In the URL textbox, input the following:
javascript:window.print()

5. Make sure that the Bookmarks bar folder is selected and click OK.

or just drag this link to your Bookmarks bar: Print.

2 exgunn 03.16.10 at 3:51 pm

I just copy and paste into Open Office and use it’s print preview

3 JB 03.28.10 at 10:24 am

I tried the “print preview” hack by installing the IE tab. But when the page loads in said tab, right clicking doesn’t bring up a Print Preview option for me, just the same Print only option as before in Chrome. Any suggestions?

4 Van 04.01.10 at 6:54 pm

Thanks for the tip. It worked a treat.

5 dental hygienist 04.06.10 at 12:36 pm

Wow this is a great resource.. I’m enjoying it.. good article

6 veterinary technician 04.13.10 at 4:00 am

nice post. thanks.

7 jah 04.27.10 at 4:12 am

A print button is not a print preview.

8 Nick 05.01.10 at 10:24 pm

Well, this… I would rather open the page in Firefox, preview and print it. Which is one of the main reason I still make Firefox my default browser. Is it such difficult to add a print preview function in Chrome?

9 Sergey Maslov 05.07.10 at 5:33 am

for those who say there is no “print preview” in context menu should install latest IE as the plugin uses IE that is currently installed on your system.

for example, IE 6 doesn’t have such option in the context menu

10 Mario Groleau 06.25.10 at 10:01 am

For this purpose, I use a utility called Fineprint developped by FinePrint Software, LLC. . This interface presents a preview from all your windows applications, it permits to configure many differents printers and paper size and choose it only after you printed, resize print, print multiple pages on one sheet, watermarking, etc… A great utility!

11 vasa1 06.27.10 at 7:46 am

Hi,
You wrote:
First of all you would need to download an extension called IE Tab. This is a very useful extension which opens websites in Google Chrome as if its opening in Internet Explorer.

As someone else pointed out, it is necessary to have IE on your PC and (I think) IE is actually opened in a Chrome tab.

12 Leland 07.01.10 at 12:39 pm

I have been using an extension for Google Chrome called Print Friendly which not only allows a print preview function but also allows you to select what you want to print similar to Aardvark for Firefox. However you must have Adobe Flash installed for this to work as some people have had issues with it. Overall it work great for me.

13 Dr M Zaka 07.27.10 at 1:28 am

pakistani Health care skin care hear loos islamic

14 Jenn 08.04.10 at 1:39 pm

I have Microsoft Office 2007 and I print everything to One Note. Just choose One Note as your printer in the Print dialogue box. It formats just like it would on paper, so it’s an accurate print preview.

15 Lisa 09.22.10 at 4:57 am

And I thought why I cannot make print preview as I like. I will definitely put this plug-in on my chrome.

16 PCTV Software 10.11.10 at 12:59 pm

Thanks a lot for the great tips. I have bookmarked your site and will refer to it again later.

17 Dwight Stegall 10.17.10 at 3:02 am

IE Tab is a ridiculous idea. IE prints documents differently than other browsers. Chrome needs it’s own Print Preview.

18 EP 11.05.10 at 10:51 am

Dwight, Print Preview may get implemented in Chrome version 9.0.
It’s still in development, though.

I may have to discontinue use of Google Chrome if they can’t fully get Print Preview into it when it reaches version 10.0. Guess I’ll have to print my email messages in other browsers beside Chrome in the meantime.

19 EP 04.13.11 at 12:55 pm

BREAKING NEWS: Google Chrome development build 12.0.733.0 seems to be the first version to have a working Print Preview feature, except the Print button from the Print Preview tab is not working yet. So Chrome is getting close to having Print Preview.

so just wait for the final release of Chrome 12 to get Print Preview!

20 jp 04.13.11 at 1:07 pm

worked great. thanks

21 Infolama 04.16.11 at 2:06 am

It is amazing. thank you for the post!

22 suzyinCT 09.08.11 at 12:02 pm

The IE tab download works perfectly for print preview. Thanks!

23 sina 06.08.13 at 4:21 am

Quand 茅cart茅 ou de plus d茅sordre soign茅s, ils vont dispara卯tre ces vergetures d茅sagr茅able du l’茅piderme. Chaque s茅rieusement Far Eastern boutique casque beats pas cher peut sans suspicion 锚tre tr猫s 茅lev茅e dans l’obtention d’un ou bien deux verres ce fait par bilan aux inhibiteurs du l’ensoleillement de via ses fa莽ons du lire, simple re莽u l’ex茅cution d’un monumentale pr茅sent茅 combinent ce fait succinct aply portant en ce qui concerne l’exp茅rience de service.

24 Hum Badal Gaye 07.29.13 at 12:09 pm

Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a
quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles.
Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same
topics? Many thanks!

Feel free to surf to my site … Hum Badal Gaye

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

*

Buzzify Networks

Google Chrome and Google™ is a Trademark of Google Inc - Google Chrome. - Sitemap - Privacy Policy - SEO Enhanced
This site chromeplugins.org is not affiliated with or sponsored by Google Inc.
Coming Soon Chrome Themes and Chrome Extensions